Salaries of Indian cricketers in Grade A, Grade B, Grade C

The BCCI’s committee of administrators (COA) met on March 22 at the headquarters in Mumbai and decided on the player contract list for the 12-month period starting on 1 October 2016 and ending on 30 September 2017. The number of contracted players has risen from 26 to 32.

Latest contract, salary list

The annual retainer fee for each of the three grades, Grade A, B and C, has been doubled from what it was previously: Rs. 1 Crore (Grade A), Rs. 50 Lakhs (Grade B) and Rs. 25 Lakhs (Grade C). So, Grade A players will now receive a retainer amount of 2 Crore rupees, Grade B players will receive 1 Crore Rupees and Grade C players will receive 50 Lakh rupees.

This pay upgrade has been made after the Indian skipper Virat Kohli, on behalf of all the players, asked the authorities (in October last year) to revise the players’ central contracts. The decision to revise the central contracts and players’ match fees, which had remained unchanged since 2010, was taken by the BCCI with consultation from the committee of administrators who have been appointed by the country’s apex court.

According to the revised match fees, players will receive 15 Lakh rupees for a Test (previously 7 Lakhs), 6 Lakh rupees for every ODI (previously 4 Lakhs) and 3 Lakhs for every T20I, in effect from October 1, 2016.

The table below is that of the players in Grade A, Grade B and Grade C of BCCI’s central contracts for 2016-17:

Grade Grade A (7) Grade B (9) Grade C (16)
Retainer 2 Crore Rupees
(previously 1 Crore)
1 Crore Rupees
(previously 50 Lakhs)
50 Lakh Rupees
(previously 25 Lakhs)
Existing players Virat Kohli
MS Dhoni
Ravichandran Ashwin
Ajinkya Rahane
Rohit Sharma
Bhuvneshwar Kumar
Mohammed Shami
Ishant Sharma
Umesh Yadav
Amit Mishra
Dhawal Kulkarni
Axar Patel
New entrants Cheteshwar Pujara
(previously grade B)
Murali Vijay
(previously grade B)
Ravindra Jadeja
(previously grade C)
Lokesh Rahul
(previously grade C)
Jasprit Bumrah
Wriddhiman Saha
(previously grade C)
Yuvraj Singh
Ashish Nehra
Manish Pandey
Hardik Pandya
Yuzvendra Chahal
Parthiv Patel
Ambati Rayudu (previously grade B)
Shikhar Dhawan (previously grade B)
Karun Nair
Jayant Yadav
Mandeep Singh
Shardul Thakur
Rishabh Pant
Kedar Jadhav
Drop outs N/A Suresh Raina
Ambati Rayudu
Murali Vijay
Cheteshwar Pujara
Shikhar Dhawan
Stuart Binny
Harbhajan Singh
Mohit Sharma
Sreenath Aravind
Varun Aaron
Karn Sharma

Harsh on Suresh Raina?

One comment

Your opinion...