A Sign of Revival: Tye Hat-trick (5/17) and a Dominant Batting Performance Get Gujarat Lions off the Mark

Match report

Gujarat Lions (GL) not only registered their first win of IPL 2017, by seven wickets against Rising Pune Supergiant (RPS) at the SCA Stadium in Rajkot, but also produced a performance that was very much akin to many of theirs in the ninth edition of the Indian Premier League. Rising Pune suffered their third straight defeat of this season and were languishing at the bottom of the table after the 13th match.

Suresh Raina won an important toss and totally unsurprisingly, chose to bowl first. Both teams made numerous changes in personnel, but the most conspicuous were captain Steve Smith returning to action for the visitors Pune after recovering from a stomach bug and Gujarat Lions’s all-rounder Ravindra Jadeja playing his first match of the season.

Gujarat’s bowling had lacked venom in their first two matches and they managed to take just one wicket while conceding a whopping 324 runs in 30.2 overs. This was a major worry because the batsmen are bound to feel added pressure when the bowling attack struggles for wickets, concedes runs easily and as batsmen, therefore, you are looking to score way more than what is par.

The inclusion of Andrew Tye for the home clash against Pune worked wonders for Gujarat Lions, though, and the Australian medium pacer contributed to a dramatic day (April 14) in the tenth edition of the IPL. Samuel Badree had taken the 15th hat-trick in IPL history earlier in the evening against Mumbai Indians (MI) at the M Chinnaswamy Stadium. And, although the West Indian leggie’s hat-trick came at a more critical stage of a match, Tye’s hat-trick helped Gujarat restrict Pune to 171/8. Tye’s hat-trick victims were Ankit Sharma (19.1), Manoj Tiwary (19.2) and Shardul Thakur (19.3).

Tye had come in place of Jason Roy and one of the two opening slots in the Gujarat batting line-up was vacant for either Aaron Finch or Dwayne Smith to take. The decision that the GL team management took with regards to the vacant opening slot and the rich reward they enjoyed in return, might turn out to be a season-changing one.

D Smith and Brendon McCullum had caused havoc to almost every bowling attack in IPL 2016, just as they had done while opening for Chennai Super Kings (CSK) in IPL 2015, so this decision to reunite them at the top of the order for GL was a no-brainer and shouldn’t have taken the think-tank two matches to implement the same.

With a modest 172 to chase down, D Smith and B McCullum began aggressively and bludgeoned Rising Pune’s bowlers to all parts of the ground. D Smith, in particular, timed the ball really well early on in his innings and found the boundaries with ease consistently while the former New Zealand skipper played second fiddle to the Barbadian.

Imran Tahir (1/53), who is in the race for the 2017 orange cap, was for the first time this season taken to the cleaners and D Smith and B McCullum’s assault neutralised the Tahir threat, diminishing any hopes Pune Supergiant might have harboured of defending 171. By the time the West Indian batsman was dismissed for 47, Gujarat had put on 94 on the board and not even nine overs were completed.

From here on, Suresh Raina (35*) played the anchoring role which enabled B McCullum (49) and Aaron Finch (33*) to play their strokes and find some form ahead of an important meeting with Mumbai Indians at the Wankhede Stadium on Sunday.

For Rising Pune, Rahul Tripathi’s knock (33) at the top of the order was the sole positive to come out of another chastening night in IPL 2017. Tripathi was involved in a 64-run partnership for the second wicket with Steve Smith and while these two were in the middle, Pune not only got the runs easily but gave the impression that they had missed S Smith the batsman hugely against Delhi Daredevils. However, after S Smith fell in the 10th over, the RPS innings went downhill and if not for Ankit Sharma’s 15-ball cameo (25 runs) later on in their innings, Pune might well have ended up with a score in the region of 160 only.

Gujarat Lions v Rising Pune Supergiant, 13th Match Scorecard

Playing XIs

GL: 1. Suresh Raina (c), 2. Brendon McCullum, 3. Dwayne Smith, 4. Andrew Tye, 5. Aaron Finch, 6. Ravindra Jadeja, 7. Dinesh Karthik, 8. Basil Thampi, 9. Praveen Kumar, 10. Shadab Jakati, 11. Ishan Kishan

RPS: 1. Steve Smith (c), 2. Ajinkya Rahane, 3. Manoj Tiwary, 4. MS Dhoni, 5. Ben Stokes, 6. Lockie Ferguson, 7. Rahul Chahar, 8. Shardul Thakur, 9. Imran Tahir, 10. Ankit Sharma, and 11. Rahul Tripathi


RPS: 171/8 (Smith 43 and Tripathi 33; Tye 5/17)
GL: 172/3 (B McCullum 49 and Dwayne Smith 47; Thakur 1/14)

Result: Gujarat Lions won the 13th match of IPL 2017 by seven wickets against Rising Pune Supergiant. Australian medium pacer Andrew Tye was awarded the man-of-the-match for taking 5/17, which included a hat-trick!

Rising Pune Supergiant (RPS) Innings (toss: Gujarat, who chose to bowl first)
Batsman Dismissal Runs scored No. of 4s No. of 6s Strike rate
Ajinkya Rahane caught Raina, bowled Praveen 0 (3) 0 0 0.00
Rahul Tripathi caught Finch, bowled Tye 33 (17) 3 2 194.11
Steve Smith caught Finch, bowled D Smith 43 (28) 6 1 153.57
Ben Stokes bowled Tye 25 (18) 2 1 138.88
Manoj Tiwary caught Kishan, bowled Tye 31 (27) 2 1 114.81
MS Dhoni leg before wicket Jadeja 5 (8) 0 0 62.50
Ankit Sharma caught B McCullum, bowled Tye 25 (15) 2 1 166.66
Shardul Thakur bowled Tye 0 (1) 0 0 0.00
Lockie Ferguson not out 1 (1) 0 0 100.00
Rahul Chahar not out 3 (2) 0 0 150.00
Batsmen who didn’t bat: Imran Tahir
Extras: 5 (4 wides and 1 leg bye)
RPS’s total: 171/8 in 20 overs, at 8.55 runs per over
RPS’s fall of wickets: 0/1 (Rahane, 0.3), 64/2 (Tripathi, 5.5), 89/3 (S Smith, 9.2), 106/4 (Stokes, 12.1), 120/5 (Dhoni, 14.2), 167/6 (Ankit, 19.1), 167/7 (Tiwary, 19.2), and 167/8 (Thakur, 19.3)
Gujarat Lions (GL) Bowling
Bowlers Overs Dots bowled Runs conceded Wickets taken Economy rate
Praveen Kumar 4 9 51 1 12.75
Basil Thampi 3 7 21 0 7.00
Shadab Jakati 2 2 22 0 11.00
Andrew Tye 4 11 17 5 4.25
Ravindra Jadeja 4 3 40 1 10.00
Dwayne Smith 2 6 10 1 5.00
Suresh Raina 1 0 9 0 9.00
GL Innings (target: 172 in 20 overs, at 8.60 runs per over)
Batsman Dismissal Runs scored No. of 4s No. of 6s Strike rate
Dwayne Smith caught R Chahar, bowled Thakur 47 (30) 8 1 156.66
Brendon McCullum stumped Dhoni, bowled R Chahar 49 (32) 5 3 153.12
Suresh Raina not out 35 (22) 4 1 159.09
Dinesh Karthik bowled Tahir 3 (5) 0 0 60.00
Aaron Finch not out 33 (19) 3 2 173.68
Batsmen who didn’t bat: Ravindra Jadeja, Ishan Kishan, Praveen Kumar, Basil Thampi, Andrew Tye, and Shadab Jakati
Extras: 5 (4 wides and 1 leg bye)
GL’s total: 172/3 in 18 overs, at 9.55 runs per over
GL’s fall of wickets: 94/1 (D Smith, 8.5), 102/2 (B McCullum, 11.1) and 111/3 (Karthik, 12.5)
RPS Bowling
Bowlers Overs Dots bowled Runs conceded Wickets taken Economy rate
Ankit Sharma 1 1 16 0 16.00
Lockie Ferguson 4 10 44 0 11.00
Shardul Thakur 3 9 14 1 4.67
Ben Stokes 3 8 18 0 6.00
Imran Tahir 4 6 53 1 13.25
Rahul Chahar 3 8 26 1 8.67

Your opinion...