Pandey Takes Knight Riders Home on the Penultimate Delivery, Daredevils Beaten by 4 Wickets

Match report

Manish Pandey played the defining innings [69* (49), 4X4 and 3×6] of the 18th match of IPL 2017, to take Kolkata Knight Riders home against Delhi Daredevils. At one stage, Kolkata, who were rescued and being led to a victory by Pandey and Yusuf Pathan, looked like they would coast home with plenty of balls to spare. But the wicket of Pathan in the 15th over (14.5), with the visitors needing just 38 more runs, gave Delhi hope.

Dismissing Pathan didn’t really bring Delhi back into the match, but three overs later (17.5), the wicket of Suryakumar Yadav brought the contest back to life at the Feroz Shah Kotla. Kolkata required only 16 runs off the last two overs, but Chris Morris conceded only seven runs in the 19th over. Mind you, the match might not have become as dramatic as it did if not for a spectacular piece of fielding at long-on from Sanju Samson.

Pandey had struck the ball reasonably well, but not well enough for it to sail over comfortably. The diminutive Samson, who picks the length of deliveries quickly while he is batting, anticipated the trajectory and the angle of the ball in flight. He dived full length, hands fully stretched out and astonishingly, caught the ball. Samson now was in flight mode and not the one to be slow to react, released the ball into the field of play before hitting the ground. Pandey was denied four vital runs and the tension reached boiling point at the Feroz Shah Kotla.

KKR needed only 13 runs off the last 10 balls, but Morris forced the match into the final over by conceding only four more runs off the final four deliveries of the 19th over. The equation became nine runs off six balls, but the question was, who, for Delhi, was going to deliver the final over? Mohammed Shami had an over up his sleeve and considering his prowess at the death, he could have been given the responsibility.

Zaheer Khan, though, took the gamble of bowling the veteran leg-spinner Amit Mishra. And in actuality, the Haryana leggie began extremely well by bowling two dots to Chris Woakes at the start of the over. The first ball was a dot and the second delivery (19.2) produced a wicket, with Woakes being stumped by Rishabh Pant. Sunil Narine, who didn’t open the batting on this evening, was on strike and took a single off the first ball he faced, giving the strike back to Pandey.

Eight runs were required off three balls and Pandey had to take a risk and find a boundary. Mishra, for some reason, bowled a flipper and Pandey delivered a crisp blow straight down the ground, with the ball this time sailing over the head of the man at long-on. With two runs required off two balls, Pandey dabbed the ball to sweeper cover and ran two runs, to seal a thrilling four-wicket win for Kolkata, who, by way of this victory, have now won on five of their last six visits to the Feroz Shah Kotla.

On one hand, Kolkata should have won the 18th match a lot earlier, but we must also credit Delhi’s bowlers for not giving up and making Kolkata’s middle and lower middle order sweat for the win.

Delhi have a couple of reasons to be extremely disappointed: they lost what eventually turned out to be an extremely close contest and even more significantly, they had Kolkata tottering at 21/3 in the chase of 169. Yes, KKR had talented young batsmen and big-hitters like Y Pathan and Sunil Narine to come. But given how Delhi’s bowling attack had fared in the first two matches, you will have backed them to defend 168/7 and Daredevils themselves will have been confident of successfully defending the total they set batting first.

Having chosen to bat first after winning the toss, Delhi didn’t get substantial scores from any of their batsmen. Samson and Sam Billings provided them with another 50+-run stand for the first wicket, but this duo fell in quick succession after the powerplay and Delhi’s innings struggled a little for momentum during the middle phase. And then, just when they had to accelerate the scoring, Shreyas Iyer and an out-of-form Karun Nair were dismissed in the 14th and 15th overs, respectively.

Rishabh Pant, though, batting at No. 5, propelled the score past 150, with a 16-ball 38 (2×4 and 4×6). And, had the 19-year-old Delhi wicketkeeper-batsman not been dismissed off the first ball of the penultimate over of the innings, Delhi might have ended up with a total in excess of 170.

Nonetheless, this was a thoroughly enjoyable match and probably the second-most exciting of IPL 2017, after Royal Challengers Bangalore v Mumbai Indians.

Daredevils v Knight Riders, 18th match scorecard

Playing XIs

Delhi: 1. Zaheer Khan (c), 2. Sanju Samson, 3. Sam Billings, 4. Shreyas Iyer, 5. Karun Nair, 6. Rishabh Pant, 7. Angelo Mathews, 8. Chris Morris, 9. Pat Cummins, 10. Mohammed Shami, and 11. Amit Mishra

Kolkata: 1. Gautam Gambhir, 2. Sunil Narine, 3. Robin Uthappa, 4. Manish Pandey, 5. Colin de Grandhomme, 6. Yusuf Pathan, 7. Suryakumar Yadav, 8. Kuldeep Yadav, 9. Chris Woakes, 10. Nathan Coulter-Nile and 11. Umesh Yadav


DD: 168/7 (Samson 39 and Pant 38; Coulter-Nile 3/22)
KKR: 169/6 (Pandey 69* and Y Pathan 59; Zaheer 2/28)

Result: Kolkata Knight Riders beat Delhi Daredevils by four wickets in the 18th match of IPL 2017, with Manish Pandey’s 69* leading them to a thrilling win. Nathan Coulter-Nile was awarded the man-of-the-match for his match figures of 4-12 dots-22-3

Delhi Daredevils (DD) Innings (toss: Delhi, who chose to bat first)
Batsman Dismissal Runs scored No. of 4s No. of 6s Strike rate
Sanju Samson caught Uthappa, bowled U Yadav 39 (25) 7 0 156.00
Sam Billings caught Uthappa, bowled Coulter-Nile 21 (17) 2 0 123.52
Karun Nair bowled Coulter-Nile 21 (27) 1 0 77.77
Shreyas Iyer run out de Grandhomme 26 (17) 4 0 152.94
Rishabh Pant caught Gambhir, bowled Coulter-Nile 38 (16) 2 4 237.50
Angelo Mathews bowled Narine 1 (4) 0 0 25.00
Chris Morris caught U Yadav, bowled Woakes 16 (9) 3 0 177.77
Pat Cummins not out 3 (4) 0 0 75.00
Mohammed Shami not out 0 (1) 0 0 0.00
Batsmen who didn’t bat: Zaheer Khan and Amit Mishra
Extras: 3 (2 wides and 1 bye)
DD’s total: 168/7 in 20 overs, at 8.40 runs per over
DD’s fall of wickets: 53/1 (Billings, 6.1), 63/2 (Samson, 7.5), 106/3 (Iyer, 13.2), 110/4 (Nair, 14.6), 145/5 (Mathews, 17.2), 153/6 (Pant, 18.1), and 167/7 (Morris, 19.5)
Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) Bowling
Bowlers Overs Dots bowled Runs conceded Wickets taken Economy rate
Nathan Coulter-Nile 4 12 22 3 5.50
Chris Woakes 4 5 31 1 7.75
Umesh Yadav 4 7 53 1 13.25
Sunil Narine 4 8 20 1 5.00
Kuldeep Yadav 3 4 29 0 9.67
Colin de Grandhomme 1 0 12 0 12.00
Kolkata Innings (target: 169 runs in 20 overs, at 8.45 runs per over)
Batsman Dismissal Runs scored No. of 4s No. of 6s Strike rate
Gautam Gambhir caught Mathews, bowled Zaheer 14 (12) 2 0 116.66
Colin de Grandhomme caught Billings, bowled Zaheer 1 (2) 0 0 50.00
Robin Uthappa caught Pant, bowled Cummins 4 (2) 1 0 200.00
Manish Pandey not out 69 (49) 4 3 140.81
Yusuf Pathan caught and bowled Morris 59 (39) 6 2 151.28
Suryakumar Yadav caught Zaheer, bowled Cummins 7 (9) 0 0 77.77
Chris Woakes stumped Pant, bowled Mishra 3 (5) 0 0 60.00
Sunil Narine not out 1 (1) 0 0 100.00
Batsmen who didn’t bat: Kuldeep Yadav, Umesh Yadav and Nathan Coulter-Nile
Extras: 11 (8 wides and 3 leg byes)
KKR’s total: 169/6 in 19.5 overs, at 8.52 runs per over
KKR’s fall of wickets: 5/1 (de Grandhomme, 0.5), 19/2 (Uthappa, 1.6), 21/3 (Gambhir, 2.5), 131/4 (Y Pathan, 14.5), 152/5 (Suryakumar, 17.5), and 160/6 (Woakes, 19.2)
Delhi Bowling
Bowlers Overs Dots bowled Runs conceded Wickets taken Economy rate
Zaheer Khan 4 10 28 2 7.00
Pat Cummins 4 6 39 2 9.75
Chris Morris 4 6 30 1 7.50
Amit Mishra 2.5 6 26 1 9.17
Mohammed Shami 3 5 28 0 9.34
Angelo Mathews 2 3 15 0 7.50

Your opinion...