ICC Champions Trophy winners

ICC Champions Trophy winners list

Year Winners Runners-up
2017 Pakistan India
2013 India England
2009 Australia New Zealand
2006 Australia West Indies
2004 West Indies England
2002 India + Srilanka
2000 New Zealand India
1998 South Africa West Indies

Used to be known as the ICC Knockout Trophy for the first two editions, ICC Champions Trophy was played biennially (once every two years) until 2009. However, because this tournament clashes with the quadrennial event that the Cricket World Cup is, the ICC haven’t been consistent in staging this tournament. The Champions Trophy has also struggled for identity, with the world cup being its senior and most discernible brother.

Pakistan became the seventh different nation to win the Champions Trophy, as they beat India by 180 runs in the Final of the 2017 Champions Trophy final.

Australia have been the most successful team in Champions Trophy history, winning this competition twice (2006 and 2009), while South Africa (1998), New Zealand (2000), and West Indies (2004), and India (2013) have won the trophy once. Sri Lanka and India shared the trophy in 2002 with rain playing spoilsport on the day the final was originally scheduled to be played and on the reserve day.