Knight Riders Make Mockery of Slow Bangalore Pitch Allegations with Emphatic Six-wicket Win Over Royal Challengers

Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) piled more misery on an already beleaguered Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) side by breaking a string of batting records in the 46th match of IPL 2017. Chasing 159 for victory, Knight Riders cantered home to a six-wicket win and with 29 balls to spare.

The visitors had a new opening pair, with the fit-again Chris Lynn joining the now designated Sunil Narine at the top of the order. And, together, Narine and Lynn took apart the Royal Challengers bowling attack. Narine was gentle in the way he struck the ball, concentrating more on timing and getting a proper contact. The West Indian was very clinical with his striking and whether the ball was pitched up to him, dropped short or came on the full to him, he middled the ball every single time.

Despite being a non-specialist batsman, Narine out-scored Lynn and played fewer deliveries than the Australian too. Narine hit half-a-dozen fours and four sixes in his 17-ball 54, an innings which made this match a no-contest. Narine, for taking 2/29 with the ball and hitting the joint-fastest 50 (off 15 balls) in the IPL, was awarded the man-of-the-match.

Lynn was the one who initiated this brutal assault on the Royal Challengers bowling, by hitting Aniket Choudhary for a couple of fours and six in the first over of the KKR innings. He stood tall and bludgeoned the ball down the ground mostly and in front of square on the off side. Though he was dominant as well, Lynn was overshadowed by Narine’s sweet and clinical striking. Nonetheless, Lynn will take a great deal of satisfaction from the fact that the shoulder injury layoff did not hinder the batting rhythm he was in. Lynn reached his 50 in 21 balls and was dismissed off the very next by Pawan Negi, who once again shone with the ball for RCB, taking 2/21 in 3.1 overs.

Lynn and Narine put together the fastest powerplay score in the IPL, 105, superseding the previous best of 100/2 by Chennai Super Kings against Kings XI Punjab. Once this duo were dismissed after the powerplay, Royal Challengers bowlers did gather some control over proceedings. Colin de Grandhomme and Gautam Gambhir not only played within themselves but also were unable to replicate the dominance and belligerence of Lynn and Narine.

Earlier in the evening, a 71-run fourth-wicket partnership between Mandeep Singh (52) and Travis Head (75*), and some clean hitting from Head himself in the final over, took Royal Challengers to 158/6 after Gautam Gambhir won the toss and chose to field first. Chris Gayle (0), Virat Kohli (5) and AB de Villiers (10) fell cheaply and the Bangalore innings was in tatters (34/3) when Head joined opener Mandeep in the middle.

The Punjab right-hander and the South Australian, though, played smartly, dispatching the loose balls to the boundary and without being greedy and reckless, milking the good deliveries for singles and twos. The Mandeep-Head duo were not offered many hit-me balls by the Knight Riders bowlers… until after 15 overs in the innings had been completed.

Play had to be suspended because of a slight drizzle which intervened after 14.1 overs into the RCB innings. This interruption, contrary to expectation, did not actually assist the batting side and Kolkata’s bowlers continued to keep a lid on the scoring. Only 25 runs came off the 17 deliveries after play resumed and Royal Challengers had reached only 125/4 at the end of 18 overs.

But Head delivered a handful of sweet blows in the 19th and 20th overs to lead his team to 158/6. A reliable Umesh Yadav was hit for three boundaries off the final three deliveries (6, 6 and 4), giving some respectability to RCB’s score. Head finished with 75* off 47 balls, punctuated by three fours and five big sixes. At the midway point, the hosts might have felt that 159 was a defendable score.

Royal Challengers Bangalore vs Kolkata Knight Riders, 46th Match Scorecard

Playing XIs

Bangalore: 1. Virat Kohli (c), 2. Chris Gayle, 3. Mandeep Singh, 4. AB de Villiers, 5. Kedar Jadhav, 6. Travis Head, 7. Pawan Negi, 8. Sreenath Aravind, 9. Samuel Badree, 10. Yuzvendra Chahal, and 11. Aniket Choudhary

Kolkata: 1. Gautam Gambhir (c), 2. Chris Lynn, 3. Sheldon Jackson (wk), 4. Manish Pandey, 5. Yusuf Pathan, 6. Ankit Singh Rajpoot, 7. Colin de Grandhomme, 8. Sunil Narine, 9. Umesh Yadav, 10. Chris Woakes, and 11. Piyush Chawla


Royal Challengers: 158/6 (75 and Mandeep 52; Umesh 3/36 and Narine 2/29)
Knight Riders: 159/4 (Narine 54 and Lynn 50; Negi: 2/21)

Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) innings (toss: Kolkata, who chose to bowl first)
Batsman Dismissal Runs scored No. of 4s No. of 6s Strike rate
Chris Gayle caught Gambhir, bowled Umesh 0 (1) 0 0 0.00
Mandeep Singh caught Umesh, bowled Narine 52 (43) 4 1 120.93
Virat Kohli leg before wicket Umesh 5 (9) 0 0 55.55
AB de Villiers bowled Narine 10 (8) 2 0 125.00
Travis Head not out 75 (47) 3 5 159.57
Kedar Jadhav caught Umesh, bowled Woakes 8 (9) 1 0 88.88
Pawan Negi caught Lynn, bowled Umesh 5 (3) 1 0 166.66
Sreenath Aravind not out 0 (0) 0 0 0.00
Batsmen who didn’t bat: Samuel Badree, Aniket Choudhary and Yuzvendra Chahal
Extras: 3 (2 wides and 1 leg bye)
RCB’s total: 158/6 in 20 overs, at 7.90 runs per over
RCB’s fall of wickets: 0/1 (Gayle, 0.1), 20/2 (Kohli, 2.5), 34/3 (de Villiers, 4.4), 105/4 (Mandeep, 15.1), 125/5 (Jadhav, 18.1), and 142/6 (Negi, 19.3)
Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) bowling
Bowlers Overs Dots bowled Runs conceded Wickets taken Economy rate
Umesh Yadav 4 12 36 3 9.00
Chris Woakes 4 8 39 1 9.75
Sunil Narine 4 8 29 2 7.25
Ankit Singh Rajpoot 4 7 25 0 6.25
Piyush Chawla 2 1 13 0 6.50
Colin de Grandhomme 2 2 15 0 7.50
Kolkata innings (target: 159 runs in 20 overs, at 7.95 runs per over)
Batsman Dismissal Runs scored No. of 4s No. of 6s Strike rate
Chris Lynn bowled Negi 50 (22) 5 4 227.27
Sunil Narine caught Jadhav, bowled Choudhary 54 (17) 6 4 317.64
Colin de Grandhomme stumped Jadhav, bowled Negi 31 (28) 1 2 110.71
Gautam Gambhir caught Negi, bowled Chahal 14 (16) 0 0 87.50
Manish Pandey not out 4 (3) 0 0 133.33
Yusuf Pathan not out 0 (5) 0 0 0.00
Batsmen who didn’t bat: Sheldon Jackson, Chris Woakes, Piyush Chawla, Ankit Singh Rajpoot, and Umesh Yadav
Extras: 6 (3 leg byes and 3 wides)
KKR’s total: 159/4 in 15.1 overs, at 10.48 runs per over
KKR’s fall of wickets: 105/1 (Narine, 6.1), 107/2 (Lynn, 7.3), 152/3 (de Grandhomme, 13.2), and 156/4 (Gambhir, 14.1)
Bangalore bowling
Bowlers Overs Dots bowled Runs conceded Wickets taken Economy rate
Aniket Choudhary 2.5 10 19 1 6.70
Samuel Badree 3 5 40 0 13.33
Yuzvendra Chahal 4 13 39 1 9.75
Sreenath Aravind 1 0 26 0 26.00
Pawan Negi 3.1 4 21 2 6.63
Travis Head 1.1 1 11 0 9.42

Your opinion...