Sunrisers make the playoffs with 8-wicket win over Gujarat Lions

Sunrisers Hyderabad showed the stuff of champions to beat Gujarat Lions by eight wickets and become the second team to qualify for the IPL 2017 playoffs. The evening had begun nervously for the defending champions, whose heart must have been in their mouth while Gujarat Lions’s openers Dwayne Smith and Ishan Kishan batted authoritatively and with real intent, managing to get their team off to the most enviable start. Sunrisers, though, were allowed to come back into the match by Gujarat, who batted recklessly and self-sabotaged all the good work that had been done in the first half of their innings.

Reckless batting coupled with some good bowling from Sunrisers resulted in Gujarat imploding from 111/0 to 154/10 in a matter of 52 balls. And once they gained a stranglehold in the match through their bowlers, Sunrisers, led by their skipper David Warner and Tamilnadu’s Vijay Shankar with the bat, ensured that they didn’t relinquish the advantage and made their way into the playoffs.

In what was their last IPL match, Gujarat began imperiously through young Kishan and the seasoned Dwayne Smith. Kishan was the dominant partner and the young Jharkhand wicketkeeper-batsman enjoyed the Sunrisers bowlers bowling short to him. Being a good bottom-hand player, Kishan was able to whip the balls angled towards his hip and pads over the man at short fine leg and anywhere square on the leg side. Kishan’s initial scoring shots were the pick-up shot over short fine leg, the pull through mid-wicket and a couple of fortuitous top edges which carried the ball over the boundary rope.

He found the boundary almost off every second delivery and Smith was happy to rotate strike and watch the young man flex his muscles. Runs came thick and fast and the Sunrisers must have been a nervous bunch. After a pretty low-key start to his innings, Smith began to attack the bowling as well, bringing his bottom hand into play and collecting a vast majority of his runs square on either side.

Runs were scored freely by Smith and Kishan, who didn’t take the foot off the accelerator even after the powerplay was done away with. 61 runs were scored in the powerplay and 50 runs were scored in the next 28 balls before Rashid Khan provided his team the much-needed breakthrough of Smith for 54 (7×4 and 2×6). And this is where the procession of wickets began. Mohammed Siraj struck twice in the 13th over, dismissing the well-set Kishan for 61 (5×4 and 4×6) and the newly arrived Suresh Raina, to bring his team well and truly back into the match.

The likes of Dinesh Karthik (0), Aaron Finch (2) and James Faulkner (8) fell either without troubling the scorers or without making a score to speak about. And the innings never recovered after Smith fell on the penultimate delivery of the 11th over. While Smith and Kishan put together 111 runs for the first, the rest of the Gujarat batting line-up managed a shocking tally of only 43 runs. And, other than Smith and Kishan, only Ravindra Jadeja managed to get a double-digit score.

In reply, Sunrisers lost a couple of wickets early, of Shikhar Dhawan and Moises Henriques, who fell in the third over to Praveen Kumar. But Warner and Shankar put together an unbeaten 133-run partnership for the third wicket, to take their team into the playoffs and at least temporarily move into second place. Warner hit a four to seal the win and finished with 69 off 52 balls while his batting partner, Shankar, made 63 off 44 balls.

Sunrisers must be delighted with the way Shankar batted, given that he was promoted to No. 4 in the batting order, ahead of Deepak Hooda and in Yuvraj Singh’s absence. Gujarat’s bowling, as has been the case throughout their last season in the IPL, was docile after good opening burst from the new-ball bowlers, Praveen and Pradeep Sangwan. But once Warner and Shankar got their eye in, they were seldom troubled and took the match away from Gujarat quickly. Warner was lucky to not be given out when he was on 29, with umpire Anil Chaudhary failing to hear the nick or spot the deflection after the ball kissed the outside edge of Warner’s blade and was grasped by Karthik.

Siraj, for bringing Sunrisers back into the match with a double strike of Kishan and Raina in the 13th over of the Gujarat innings and finishing with figures of 4-10 dots-32-4, was awarded the man-of-the-match.

Gujarat vs Hyderabad, 53rd match scorecard

Playing XIs

Gujarat: 1. Suresh Raina (c), 2. Dwayne Smith, 3. Ishan Kishan, 4. Dinesh Karthik (wk), 5. Aaron Finch, 6. Ravindra Jadeja, 7. James Faulkner, 8. Munaf Patel, 9. Praveen Kumar, 10. Pradeep Sangwan, and 11. Ankit Soni

Hyderabad: 1. David Warner, 2. Shikhar Dhawan, 3. Moises Henriques, 4. Deepak Hooda, 5. Naman Ojha (wk), 6. Mohammad Nabi, 7. Rashid Khan, 8. Bhuvneshwar Kumar, 9. Siddarth Kaul, 10. Mohammed Siraj, and 11. Vijay Shankar


Lions: 154/10 (Kishan 61 and Smith 54; Siraj 4/32 and Rashid 3/34)
Sunrisers: 158/2 (Warner 69 and Shankar 63; Praveen 2/22)

Gujarat Lions (GL) innings (toss: Hyderabad, who chose to bowl first)
Batsman Dismissal Runs scored No. of 4s No. of 6s Strike rate
Dwayne Smith leg before wicket Rashid 54 (33) 7 2 163.63
Ishan Kishan caught Ojha, bowled Siraj 61 (40) 5 4 152.50
Suresh Raina caught Dhawan, bowled Siraj 2 (5) 0 0 40.00
Dinesh Karthik caught Hooda, bowled Rashid 0 (1) 0 0 0.00
Aaron Finch bowled Rashid 2 (3) 0 0 66.66
Ravindra Jadeja not out 20 (14) 2 0 142.85
James Faulkner bowled Siraj 8 (10) 1 0 80.00
Pradeep Sangwan bowled Siraj 0 (1) 0 0 0.00
Ankit Soni bowled Kaul 0 (6) 0 0 0.00
Praveen Kumar bowled Bhuvneshwar 1 (2) 0 0 50.00
Munaf Patel bowled Bhuvneshwar 0 (1) 0 0 0.00
Extras: 6 (2 wides, 3 leg byes and 1 bye)
GL’s total: 154/10 in 19.2 overs, at 7.96 runs per over
GL’s fall of wickets: 111/1 (Smith, 10.5), 120/2 (Kishan, 12.4), 120/3 (Raina, 12.6), 120/4 (Karthik, 13.1), 123/5 (Finch, 13.5), 142/6 (Faulkner, 16.5), 142/7 (Sangwan, 16.6), 153/8 (Soni, 18.5), 154/9 (Praveen, 19.1), and 154/10 (Munaf, 19.2)
Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) bowling
Bowlers Overs Dots bowled Runs conceded Wickets taken Economy rate
Bhuvneshwar Kumar 3.2 9 25 2 7.50
Mohammed Siraj 4 10 32 4 8.00
Siddarth Kaul 4 9 30 1 7.50
Mohammad Nabi 3 9 17 0 5.67
Rashid Khan 4 10 34 3 8.50
Moises Henriques 1 1 12 0 12.00
Hyderabad innings (target: 155 runs in 20 overs, at 7.75 runs per over)
Batsman Dismissal Runs scored No. of 4s No. of 6s Strike rate
David Warner not out 69 (52) 9 0 132.69
Shikhar Dhawan caught Faulkner, bowled Praveen 18 (11) 4 0 163.63
Moises Henriques caught Karthik, bowled Praveen 4 (2) 1 0 200.00
Vijay Shankar not out 63 (44) 9 0 143.18
Batsmen who didn’t bat: Deepak Hooda, Naman Ojha, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammad Nabi, Rashid Khan, Mohammed Siraj, and Siddarth Kaul
Extras: 4 (1 wide and 3 leg byes)
SRH’s total: 158/2 in 18.1 overs, at 8.69 runs per over
SRH’s fall of wickets: 20/1 (Dhawan, 2.1) and 25/2 (Henriques, 2.6)
Gujarat bowling
Bowlers Overs Dots bowled Runs conceded Wickets taken Economy rate
Praveen Kumar 4 15 22 2 5.50
Pradeep Sangwan 4 10 37 0 9.25
James Faulkner 2 0 24 0 12.00
Munaf Patel 3 3 22 0 7.33
Ravindra Jadeja 3 4 19 0 6.33
Ankit Soni 2.1 1 31 0 14.30

Your opinion...