Champions Trophy 2017: What are the best and likely playing XIs for 7 of the 8 teams?

We’re getting ever closer to the start of the eighth edition of the Champions Trophy, and the excitement for this tournament is palpable. Because it involves the top eight teams—who have many quality players in their ranks—we are likely to witness thrilling and nail-biting contests all the way. The 2017 edition of this tournament gets underway on June 1, when hosts England take on Bangladesh at the Brit Oval.

Team India were the last of the eight participants to announce their squads for Champions Trophy 2017 and what we can say is that all eight captains have a wealth of resources at their disposal. But, in what is a short tournament, captains and the team think-tanks do not have the time to figure out what their best playing XI is. All teams have only three matches in the group stage and you ideally want to win all three, to ensure that the qualification for the semi-finals is straightforward. Therefore, whether you are Virat Kohli, Steve Smith or Mashrafe Mortaza, you should know beforehand your best playing XI and the XI you will field in your first outing of the tournament.

Champions Trophy 2017 Teams: Best and Likely Playing XIs

The team managements have to take into account the overhead conditions on the match day, their strengths as a unit, the squad they have, and the opposition they are playing on a given day. But the common blueprint for most teams will be picking six batsmen (including the wicketkeeper), one all-rounder and four out-and-out bowlers in their XIs.

Australia’s playing XI: 1. Steve Smith (c), 2. David Warner, 3. Aaron Finch, 4. Travis Head, 5. Glenn Maxwell, 6. Matthew Wade (wk), 7. John Hastings, 8. Mitchell Starc, 9. Josh Hazlewood, 10. Pat Cummins, and 11. Adam Zampa
Read: (Were Australian selectors right to leave out James Faulkner?)

Bangladesh: 1. Mashrafe Mortaza (c), 2. Tamim Iqbal, 3. Soumya Sarkar, 4. Mushfiqur Rahim (wk), 5. Mahmudullah Riyad, 6. Shakib Al Hasan, 7. Mosaddek Hossain, 8. Mehedi Hasan, 9. Mustafizur Rahman, 10. Taskin Ahmed, and 11. Rubel Hossain

England: 1. Eoin Morgan (c), 2. Jason Roy, 3. Alex Hales, 4. Joe Root, 5. Jos Buttler (wk), 6. Ben Stokes, 7. Moeen Ali, 8. Chris Woakes, 9. Liam Plunkett, 10. David Willey, and 11. Adil Rashid/Mark Wood

New Zealand playing XI: 1. Kane Williamson (c), 2. Martin Guptill, 3. Tom Latham, 4. Ross Taylor, 5. Neil Broom, 6. Luke Ronchi (wk), 7. James Neesham/Colin de Grandhomme, 8. Mitchell Santner, 8. Tim Southee, 9. Trent Boult, 10. Jeetan Patel, and 11. Adam Milne

Pakistan: 1. Sarfraz Ahmed (c & wk), 2. Ahmed Shehzad, 3. Mohammad Hafeez, 4. Babar Azam, 5. Shoaib Malik, 6. Haris Sohail, 7. Imad Wasim, 8. Wahab Riaz/Junaid Khan, 9. Mohammad Amir, 10. Hasan Ali, and 11. Shadab Khan

South Africa: 1. AB de Villiers (c), 2. Quinton de Kock (wk), 3. Hashim Amla, 4. Jean-Paul Duminy, 5. David Miller, 6. Chris Morris, 7. Andile Phehlukwayo/Farhaan Behardien, 8. Morne Morkel, 9. Kagiso Rabada, 10. Imran Tahir, and 11. Keshav Maharaj/Wayne Parnell

Srilanka: 1. Angelo Mathews (c), 2. Upul Tharanga, 3. Kusal Perera, 4. Dinesh Chandimal (wk), 5. Kusal Mendis, 6. Chamara Kapugedera, 7. Seekkuge Prasanna, 8. Suranga Lakmal, 9. Nuwan Pradeep, 10. Lakshan Sandakan, and 11. Lasith Malinga

Your opinion...