Fixtures release delayed by a day

Latest: The Spanish league fixtures 2017/18 are currently being drawn. The season starts on August 18.

A considerably long wait for the league title was brought to an end by Real Madrid, whose consistency and solidity helped them finish three points above Barcelona. This is now the 33rd time that the Los Blancos have become the Spanish champions, with Barcelona having won the second-most number of league titles in Spain (24). No doubt, though, that the Catalan giants and Atletico Madrid will look to regain the crown from their fierce rivals in the 2017/18 season, the start of which isn’t actually far away.

On the other hand, Sporting Gijon (18th), Osasuna (19th) and Granada (20th) have been relegated to the Spanish Segunda Division. Getafe (playoff win), Girona and Levante have gained promotion to the top-flight in Spain.

Below are the key dates as far as the Spanish first division is concerned:

Fixtures release date: July 21 (Friday)
2017/18 season start date: August 18 (Friday)
Season end date: May 20, 2018 (Sunday)

Update: The Spanish league fixture draw has been postponed to July 21, Friday, after the football chief was arrested this past Tuesday after a raid in the Madrid offices as part of an anti-corruption investigation. Stay tuned to Cricfooty.

If your favourite club is part of Champions League or the Europa League, check out when these two competitions get underway next season.


Your opinion...