Most wickets in a single ODI match

Bowler Figures
Against Year
C Vaas (SL) 8-3-19-8 Zimbabwe 2001
Shahid Afridi (Pak) 9-3-12-7 West Indies 2013
G McGrath (Aus) 7-4-15-7 Namibia 2003
Rashid Khan (Afg) 8.4-1-18-7 West Indies 2017
Andy Bichel (Aus) 10-0-20-7 England 2003
M Muralitharan (SL) 10-1-30-7 India 2000
Tim Southee (NZ) 9-0-33-7 England 2015
T Boult (NZ) 10-3-34-7 West Indies 2017
Waqar Younis (Pak) 10-0-36-7 England 2001
Aaqib Javed (Pak) 10-1-37-7 India 1991
Imran Tahir (SA) 9-0-45-7 West Indies 2016
W Davis (WI) 10.3-0-51-7 Australia 1983
Stuart Binny (Ind) 4.4-2-4-6 Bangladesh 2014
S Lamichhane (Nep) 5.1-0-11-6 PNG 2021
Anil Kumble (Ind) 6.1-2-12-6 West Indies 1993
Ajantha Mendis (SL) 8-1-13-6 India 2008
G Gilmour (Aus) 12-6-14-6 England 1975
Imran Khan (Pak) 10-2-14-6 India 1985
F Maharoof (SL) 9-2-14-6 West Indies 2006
Colin Croft (WI) 9-4-15-6 England 1981
S Lamichhane (Nep) 6-1-16-6 USA 2020
K Rabada (SA) 8-3-16-6 Bangladesh 2015
Shoaib Akhtar (Pak) 9-1-16-6 New Zealand 2002
Azhar Mahmood (Pak) 10-2-18-6 West Indies 1999
H Olonga (Zim) 8.2-3-19-6 England 2000
Shane Bond (NZ) 9-3-19-6 India 2005
Bryan Strang (Zim) 10-2-20-6 Bangladesh 1997
A Mathews (SL) 6-0-20-6 India 2009

Related: Quickest hundred one-day wickets

About best bowling figures in One-Day International

Chaminda Vaas of Sri Lanka holds the record for the best bowling figures in ODI cricket with his spell of 8-3-19-8, which came against Zimbabwe in 2001. He took each of the first eight Zimbabwe wickets and was on course for the ‘Perfect 10’. However, Muttiah Muralitharan picked the last two wickets (Travis Friend and Henry Olonga) as the pair combined to bowl out Zimbabwe for 38. Vaas is the only bowler to have taken an eight-for in ODI cricket and holds the record for the most wickets in a ODI match single ODI match.

As many as 11 bowlers have taken seven wickets in a single ODI, with Pakistan’s Shahid Afridi holding the record for the best seven-for in a one-dayer with figures of 9-3-12-7. It’s also the best bowling figures in ODI for Pakistan.

Glenn McGrath (7-4-15-7), Rashid Khan (8.4-1-18-7), Tim Southee (9-0-33-7), Imran Tahir (9-0-45-7), and Winston Davis (10.3-0-51-7) have the best bowling figures in ODI for Australia, Afghanistan, New Zealand, South Africa, and West Indies respectively.

Stuart Binny (4.4-2-4-6) holds the record for the best bowling figures in ODI for India and has the best six-for in 50-over cricket. He’s followed by compatriot Anil Kumble (6.1-2-12-6), who has the second-best bowling spell in ODI for India.

Sandeep Lamichhane (5.1-0-11-6) and Henry Olonga (8.2-3-19-6) have the best bowling figures in ODI for Nepal and Zimbabwe respectively.