Two young guns named in squad for 5 ODIs, 1 T20I v Windies

Last updated: 28-Jun-2017

WI squad for final three India ODIs: Jonathan Carter and Kieran Powell have made way for the uncapped duo of Kyle Hope, who is Shai Hope’s elder brother, and Sunil Ambris in what remains a 13-man squad. West Indies trail India 0-1 in the five-ODI series, with three left to play.

The West Indies squad for the final three India ODIs: Jason Holder (c), Ashley Nurse, Devendra Bishoo, Roston Chase, Evin Lewis, Miguel Cummins, Shai Hope (wk), Kesrick Williams, Kyle Hope, Alzarri Joseph, Jason Mohammed, Rovman Powell, and Sunil Ambris

India will resume their unfinished tour of the West Indies from last year by taking on the two-time ODI world champions in a five-ODI series which gets underway on June 23 at Queen’s Park Oval in Port of Spain. The squad for the five one-dayers and the only Twenty20 International was announced on Thursday (June 15) by the MSK Prasad-led selection committee, while Team India were concentrating on booking their place in the Champions Trophy 2017 Final.

Rishabh Pant and Kuldeep Yadav have replaced Rohit Sharma and Jasprit Bumrah in the 15-man squad which was named for the Champions Trophy title defence. No reason has been provided for leaving out this Mumbai Indians duo. These two youngsters were part of the five, including Dinesh Karthik, named in the standby for the CT squad. The other 13 players along with captain Virat Kohli have been retained and the Indian team will travel to the Caribbean on June 22.

India’s squad for 2017 ODI tour of West Indies: Virat Kohli (c), Shikhar Dhawan, Ajinkya Rahane, Rishabh Pant, Yuvraj Singh, MS Dhoni (wk), Kedar Jadhav, Hardik Pandya, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Kuldeep Yadav, Umesh Yadav, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammed Shami, and Dinesh Karthik

Your opinion...