Australia squad for Bangladesh Tests 2017

A 13-man Australia squad for the two-Test tour of Bangladesh was announced on Friday (June 16) by the national selection committee led by Trevor Hohns.

Despite taking 19 wickets in the four-Test series against India in February-March, left-arm orthodox spinner Steve O’Keefe has been dropped.

Mitchell Starc, who played the Champions Trophy 2017 after recovering from a stress fracture in his right foot, has been rested. The No. 10-ranked Test bowler underwent scans after Australia’s exit from the eight-team tournament and they (the scans) have indicated that the stress fracture hasn’t completely healed. The Australian team physio has said that they aim to have Starc fit in time for the limited-overs series against India in September-October this year.

Marcus Stoinis and Shaun Marsh are the other players who have been dropped for the Bangladesh Tests, having been picked in the squad for the India Tests. A change has been made to this Aussie squad announced in June, with leg-spinner Mitchell Swepson being named as the third spinner in the side and Jackson Bird, who wasn’t named in the squad in June, has replaced James Pattinson, who has been ruled out due to inflammation in his back.

Hilton Cartwright has replaced Marcus Stoinis. Cartwright amassed 861 runs in the 2016/17 Sheffield Shield season and his domestic performances have been a factor in his being picked.

Australia’s Test squad vs Bangladesh in full:

Steve Smith (c), David Warner (vice-captain), Matthew Renshaw, Usman Khawaja, Hilton Cartwright, Glenn Maxwell, Peter Handscomb, Matthew Wade (wk), Pat Cummins, Jackson Bird, Nathan Lyon, Ashton Agar, Mitchell Swepson, and Steve O’Keefe (replacement for injured Hazlewood)

Read: Australia tour schedule

Your opinion...