England vs South Africa 2017: Squads for four-Test series

England, South African squads for four-Test series

The senior South African players, Faf du Plessis, Hashim Amla, Jean-Paul Duminy, and Quinton de Kock, who were afforded a rest for the three-T20I series, and returned to England for the four-Test series beginning on July 6. Captain du Plessis missed the first Test and Dean Elgar led the Proteas at Lord’s, where they lost. But du Plessis returned to captain the South Africans at Trent Bridge and inspired a magnificent turnaround in form and fortunes, resulting in a massive 340-run victory to level the series 1-1.

Batsmen Heino Kuhn and Aiden Markram and all-rounder Andile Phehlukwayo earned their maiden Test call-ups and feature in the 16-man South African squad for the four-Test series against England. Test opener Stephen Cook, all-rounder Wayne Parnell and off-spinner Dane Piedt are the ones to miss out, having been picked for the New Zealand Tests in March.

South Africa: Faf du Plessis (c), Dean Elgar, Heino Kuhn, Aiden Markram, Hashim Amla, Temba Bavuma, Jean-Paul Duminy (released from the squad), Quinton de Kock (wk), Chris Morris, Andile Phehlukwayo, Keshav Maharaj, Morne Morkel, Kagiso Rabada, Theunis de Bruyn, Vernon Philander, and Duanne Olivier

England’s 13-man squad for the third Test: Joe Root (c), Alastair Cook, Keaton Jennings, Tom Westley, Dawid Malan, Jonny Bairstow, Ben Stokes, Moeen Ali, Toby Roland-Jones, James Anderson, Stuart Broad, Steven Finn (standby for Mark Wood), and Liam Dawson.

Know: 2017 Basil D’Oliveira Trophy Schedule

England’s 16-man T20I squad, on the other hand, has five uncapped players, namely Craig Overton, Dawid Malan, Liam Livingston, Mason Crane, and Tom Curran. Eoin Morgan will lead the Three Lions, who will look to shrug off the disappointment of losing in the semi-finals of the ICC Champions Trophy 2017. Mark Wood will play only the first T20I of the series. Jonny Bairstow will play the first two T20Is alone.

T20I squads

England: Eoin Morgan (c), Jonny Bairstow, Sam Billings, Jos Buttler (wk), Alex Hales, Chris Jordan, Jason Roy, Liam Plunkett, David Willey, Mark Wood, Liam Dawson, Liam Livingstone, Tom Curran, Mason Crane, Craig Overton, and Dawid Malan

South Africa: AB de Villiers (c), Andile Phehlukwayo, Chris Morris, David Miller, Dane Paterson, Dwaine Pretorius, Farhaan Behardien, Imran Tahir, Jon-Jon Smuts, Mangaliso Mosehle, Morne Morkel, Reeza Hendricks, and Wayne Parnell

Your opinion...