Cricket World Cup winners captains list

Year World Cup winners World Cup-winning captain No. of World Cups as captain
2019 England E Morgan 2 (2019* & 2015)
2015 Australia Michael Clarke 1 (2015*)
2011 India MS Dhoni 2 (2011* & 2015)
2007 Australia Ricky Ponting 3 (2003*, 2007* & 2011)
2003 Australia Ricky Ponting 3 (2003*, 2007* & 2011)
1999 Australia Steve Waugh 1 (1999*)
1996 Srilanka Arjuna Ranatunga 3 (1992, 1996* & 1999)
1992 Pakistan Imran Khan 2 (1987 & 1992*)
1987 Australia Allan Border 2 (1987* & 1992)
1983 India Kapil Dev 2 (1983* & 1987)
1979 West Indies Clive Lloyd 3 (1975*, 1979* & 1983)
1975 West Indies Clive Lloyd 3 (1975*, 1979* & 1983)
* indicates the world cup edition which a captain won for his country

We have had 12 editions of ICC Cricket World Cup so far and only two captains hold the distinction of having won their countries two World Cups, consecutive editions of the quadrennial event as well. Clive Lloyd and Ricky Ponting were part of world-beating sides for much of their playing careers and you can say that Lloyd and Ponting were successful captains and won two world cups because they had great teams.

Lloyd was the first World Cup winning captain, lifting the trophy for his country (West Indies) in the year 1975. He was also the captain when the West Indies lifted the World Cup four years later at Lord’s. In 1983, the Lloyd-led West Indies were denied a third consecutive world championship by the Kapil Dev-led Indian team. In 1987, when the World Cup was held in India, Australia, under Allan Border’s captaincy, won the Cricket World Cup for the first time.

In 1992, Pakistan, under the charismatic Imran Khan, edged England in the final to their first World Cup. In 1996, Arjuna Ranatunga-led Sri Lanka beat a formidable Australian team in the final played at Gaddafi Stadium in Lahore to win their first ever World Cup.

Australia dominated ODI and world cricket for the next 11 years, the evidence for which was in their winning the next three World Cups in 1999, 2003 and 2007, held in England, South Africa and the West Indies respectively.

Four years later, Ponting had the chance to become the first captain to lead his country to three consecutive World Cups, but they were knocked out the M. S. Dhoni-led India in the quarter-final and who went on to win the trophy by beating Sri Lanka in the final.

Four years later (in 2015), Australia, on their own patch and under Michael Clarke’s captaincy, lifted the title for the fifth time.

In 2019, Eoin Morgan led England to their maiden World Cup, edging New Zealand in controversial circumstances with the tournament host winning on the basis of having hit more boundaries than the Blackcaps after the match ended in a tie followed by a tied super over.


Your opinion...