BCCI will receive US$405m of ICC’s revenue over 8 years

According to the new financial, revenue model agreed by the ICC with the cricket boards, the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) will receive US$405m of the global cricket governing body’s income over an eight-year period spanning from 2016-2023. This revenue share is still $165m less than what the Indian cricket board had received during the previous cycle.

Below is the ICC revenue breakdown by country/member, according to the new financial sharing model:

ICC member Revenue share
India US$405m
England US$139m
Zimbabwe US$94m
7 other full members US$128m each
Associate nations along with Afghanistan and Ireland US$240m collective funding

In other news:

*On June 22, 2017, Afghanistan and Ireland gained ICC’s full member status, which will now allow them to play Test matches with the ten other full member nations, namely India, South Africa, Australia, England, New Zealand, Pakistan, Srilanka, West Indies, Bangladesh, and Zimbabwe. The current number of ICC full members stands at 12.

Australia and England were the first to gain full member status, in 1877, followed by South Africa in 1889, West Indies in 1928, New Zealand in 1930, India in 1932, Pakistan in 1952, Srilanka in 1981, Zimbabwe in 1992, and Bangladesh in 2000. 2017 is now the landmark year for Afghanistan and Ireland as cricketing nations, with their becoming full members from having previously been ICC’s associate members.

The criteria for becoming an ICC full member is that a country must have a concrete first-class infrastructure in place, with three or four-day domestic matches being played regularly. In addition, a country must have a sufficiently large pool of players at the domestic level capable of performing at the international level.

Your opinion...