Caribbean Premier League 2020 schedule & results

The full schedule is awaited.

The eighth season of the Caribbean Premier League (CPL 2020) is scheduled to be played from August 18 to September 10, with all matches set to be held at the Queen’s Park Oval in Trinidad.

The CPL made the decision to play the entire season at one venue after discussions with the Trinidad & Tobago’s ministry of health and its own board of medical advisors to alleviate the risk of transmission of the COVID-19 virus, the official website said.

Accordingly, the players and match officials will be accommodated in one hotel and “will be subject to strict quarantine protocols for the first two weeks they are in the country”. Everyone travelling from abroad will undergo tests for coronavirus before they depart for Trinidad and also after arrival in the country.

All the stakeholders involved in the tournament will be “subject to regular temperature checks” and undergo tests for the virus during their stay and before departure, the website further said.

CPL’s chief operating officer Pete Russell told the official website: “We are really excited to bring high class cricket to the Caribbean and to the rest of the world. The standard of players involved in this year’s tournament will be higher than ever and we can’t wait to get the tournament under way.”

“We would like to express our gratitude and thanks to The Hon. Dr. Keith Rowley, Prime Minister of Trinidad & Tobago, The Hon. Shamfa Cudjoe, Minister for Sport and Youth Affairs, The Hon. Terrence Deyalsingh, Minister for Health, Dr. Roshan Parasram, Chief Medical Officer for Trinidad & Tobago, Douglas Camacho, Chairman of Sport TT and their respective ministries and organisations for their support and guidance in making this all possible,” he said.