List of double centuries in ODI

Batsman Final score Against Date
F Zaman (PAK) 210* (156) ZIM Jul 20, 2018
R Sharma (IND) 208* (153) SL Dec 13, 2017
M Guptill (NZ) 237* (163) WI Mar 21, 2015
C Gayle (WI) 215 (147) ZIM Feb 24, 2015
R Sharma (IND) 264 (173) SL Nov 13, 2014
R Sharma (IND) 209 (158) AUS Nov 2, 2013
V Sehwag (IND) 219 (149) WI Dec 8, 2011
S Tendulkar (IND) 200* (147) SA Feb 24, 2010

Glossary: AUS-Australia, IND-India, NZ-New Zealand, SA-South Africa, SL-Sri Lanka,  WI-West Indies, ZIM-Zimbabwe

ODI double century records

  • The first double century in ODI was scored by Sachin Tendulkar on February 24, 2010, at the Roop Singh Stadium in Gwalior, against South Africa. The Indian batting maestro reached the landmark off the 147th ball he faced, dabbing a Charl Langeveldt yorker to point and setting off for a quick single
  • The first three double centuries in ODI cricket were all scored by Indian batsmen, with Virender Sehwag (8 December 2011) and Rohit Sharma (2 November 2013) following in the footsteps of Tendulkar by scoring double hundreds against West Indies at Holkar Stadium in Indore and against Australia at M Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bangalore respectively
  • The record for the fastest ODI double century is held by West Indies’ Chris Gayle, who reached the landmark in 138 balls, bettering the previous record held by Sehwag (140 balls)
  • Gayle also holds the record for the first ODI double century in an ICC Cricket World Cup, with this West Indian opening batsman making a 147-ball 215 against Zimbabwe at the Manuka Oval in Canberra on 24 February 2015
  • International cricket has so far seen seven double centuries in One-Day Internationals (ODIs), with Rohit Sharma making the latest double hundred on 13 December 2017 at the PCA IS Bindra Stadium in Mohali, against Sri Lanka
  • Rohit Sharma is the only batsman to make an ODI double hundred as captain of his side
  • This Indian opening batsman is also the only one to date to have the most ODI double hundreds (three), with everyone else having only one double century in ODI cricket to their names
  • The common denominator between all the double centurions in ODI cricket is that they are all opening batsmen
  • The record for the highest ODI score by a batsman is 264 by Rohit Sharma against Sri Lanka in 2014