ICC World Cup winners list

ICC Cricket World Cup winners list

Year CWC winner Runner-up
2015 Australia New Zealand
2011 India Sri Lanka
2007 Australia Sri Lanka
2003 Australia India
1999 Australia Pakistan
1996 Sri Lanka Australia
1992 Pakistan England
1987 Australia England
1983 India West Indies
1979 West Indies England
1975 West Indies Australia

Australia, the five-time winner and defending champion, have been by far the most successful team of the Cricket World Cup, which they have won in 1987, 1999, 2003, 2007, and 2015. They have also been the only team to win the ICC World Cup in three successive editions (1999, 2003 and 2007), bettering the feat achieved by the West Indies, who won the tournament back to back in 1975 and 1979. India (1983 and 2011), along with the West Indies, are the joint-second-most successful teams in the history of Cricket World Cup, winning it twice each. Pakistan (1992) and Sri Lanka (1996) have won the tournament once.

England have been in the most number of World Cup finals (three) without going on to lift the trophy, finishing as runners-up. Australia (1979 and 1996) and Sri Lanka (2007 and 2011) have been runners-up twice, while New Zealand, India, Pakistan, and the West Indies have been finalists once.

Check out: CWC-winning captains

Your opinion...