Australia ODI, T20 squad for India tour 2017

Australia ODI squad: Steve Smith (captain), David Warner (vice-captain), Travis Head, Aaron Finch, Hilton Cartwright, Glenn Maxwell, Marcus Stoinis, Matthew Wade (WK), Ashton Agar, James Faulkner, Kane Richardson, Pat Cummins, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Adam Zampa, and Peter Handscomb

Australia T20 squad: Steve Smith (captain), David Warner (vice-captain), Aaron Finch, Travis Head, Daniel Christian, Moises Henriques, Glenn Maxwell, Tim Paine (WK), Adam Zampa, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Jason Behrendorff, Kane Richardson, and Andrew Tye

Check out: India’s T20I team for Australia series


Tasmanian all-rounder James Faulkner has regained his place in the Australian one-day side, having been dropped for the ICC Champions Trophy 2017. He has come in place of Moises Henriques, who didn’t really justify his selection at the eight-team event in England. Henriques managed a meagre tally of 45 runs in three inningsĀ but took four wickets with the ball.

Chris Lynn, who is nursing a shoulder injury, has made way for Hilton Cartwright, while premier fast bowler Mitchell Starc, who has yet to recover completely from the stress fracture in his right foot (suffered during the Test tour of India in February-March), has been replaced by Nathan Coulter-Nile.

Victorian all-rounder John Hastings, who suffered a foot injury while playing in the NatWest T20 Blast for Worcestershire, has been replaced by Ashton Agar. The Australian selectors have named a 14-man ODI squad for the five-ODI series against India.

Peter Handscomb was called in as cover for the injured Aaron Finch (calf) on the eve of the first ODI against India.

In the T20 squad, Tim Paine replaces Matthew Wade, while Kane Richardson comes in for Josh Hazlewood and Jason Behrendorff comes in place of Agar. Cartwright and Faulkner are replaced by Daniel Christian and Henriques in what is a 13-man squad for the three-T20I series against the 2016 ICC T20 Cricket World Cup semi-finalists. Adam Zampa is the only specialist spinner in the ODI and T20 squads, though Maxwell will surely be his deputy.

Andrew Tye has been named Cummins’s replacement in the T20 squad, with this New South Wales pacer returning home at the end of the ODI series on October 2.

Your opinion...