All-time FIFA World Cup winner list

Year Winner Runner-up Captain
2014 Germany Argentina P Lahm
2010 Spain Holland I Casillas
2006 Italy France F Cannavaro
2002 Brazil Germany Cafu
1998 France Brazil D Deschamps
1994 Brazil Italy Dunga
1990 W. Germany Argentina L Matthaus
1986 Argentina W. Germany D Maradona
1982 Italy W. Germany D Zoff
1978 Argentina Holland D Passarella
1974 W. Germany Holland F Beckenbauer
1970 Brazil Italy C Torres
1966 England W. Germany B Moore
1962 Brazil C. Slovakia M Ramos
1958 Brazil Sweden H Bellini
1954 W. Germany Hungary F Walter
1950 Uruguay Brazil O Varela
1938 Italy Hungary G Meazza
1934 Italy C. Slovakia G Combi
1930 Uruguay Argentina J Nasazzi

Check out: Highest goal scorers in FWC


1) Which country has won the most FIFA World Cups?

Brazil (2002, 1994, 1970, 1962, and 1958); Italy (2006, 1982, 1938, and 1934) and Germany (2014, 1990, 1974, and 1954) have won four World Cups each. In all, eight countries have won the football world cup (Uruguay, Argentina, Spain, England, and France)

2) How many FIFA World Cups have been held till now?

20 editions of the FIFA World Cup have taken place till date. The 2018 Football World Cup in Russia will be the 21st edition of this celebrated tournament.

3) Which player has won the most FIFA World Cups?

Brazil’s Pele holds the record for winning the most World Cups by a player, lifting the trophy three times (1958, 1962 and 1970). 20 other players have won more than one World Cup (in other words, two World Cups).

Your opinion...