Man City stars dominate PFA Team of the Year

The PFA Premier League Team of the Year 2018 has been revealed and as many as five (!) Manchester City players have been named in the same, with Sergio Aguero featuring for the first time. David Silva, Kyle Walker, Kevin de Bruyne, and Nicolas Otamendi are the four other Man City stars who have made the 2017-18 team of the season.

Tottenham Hotspur have the second-most number of representatives with three players, namely Jan Vertonghen, Harry Kane and Christian Eriksen.

David de Gea (Manchester United) is the goalkeeper of the team, with Marcos Alonso (Chelsea) and Mohamed Salah (Liverpool) completing the line-up.

De Gea, Kyle Walker (with Spurs in 2016-17) and Harry Kane have been named in the PFA Team of the Season for the second year running.

With Manchester City winning the 2017-18 Premier League title and their players dominating the goal-scoring and assists charts, the likes of de Bruyne (15 assists), David Silva (11 assists), Aguero (21 goals), and Otamendi (4 goals, 13 clean sheets and 2902 passes) being named in the team of the season is a no-brainer; an omission of any of this quintet will have been nothing less than a travesty.

Similarly, de Gea, who has the most clean sheets (16) at the end of the 33rd matchweek and made the fifth-most number of saves (106), deserves to be the goalkeeper of the team of the year.

The top two goal-scorers—Mohamed Salah, who has 30 goals and is leading the golden-boot race and Harry Kane, who has 26 goals—pretty much pick themselves. Sergio Aguero, who has the third-most number of goals (21), completes the forward line in the team of the year 2018.

Christian Eriksen has the fifth-joint-highest assists (9) in the Premier League this season and also scored 10 goals so far.

Chelsea left-back Marcos Alonso is the highest-scoring defender in the league with six goals and has been the best left-back in the league in the 2017-18 season. Jan Vertonghen has, similar to Otamendi, kept 13 clean sheets in the league this season.

Manchester City right-back Kyle Walker has been one of the integral components of his team’s explosive style of play and boasts indisputable credentials (13 clean sheets and six assists) to be named in the team of the year.

Of the Premier League Big Six, only Arsenal have no representatives in the Team of the Year.

*The stats mentioned are as they were at the time of the announcement
PFA Team of the Year 2018 - Football tactics and formations

One comment

Your opinion...