Rohit, Pandya lead India to series win

Brief scores: England 198/9 (Jason Roy 61, Jos Buttler 34, Alex Hales 30; Hardik Pandya 4/38, Siddarth Kaul 2/35) lost to India 201/3 (Rohit Sharma100*, Virat Kohli 43, Hardik Pandya 33*; David Willey 1/37) by 7 wickets

Statistical highlights

  • India won the final T20I of a three-match series by seven wickets and sealed a 2-1 series win. This is the eighth consecutive three-match T20I series which India have won, they have never lost a three-T20I series.
  • Deepak Chahar became the 76th T20I player for India, replacing Bhuvneshwar Kumar in the playing XI.
  • Jason Roy made his third T20I half-century, ending up with 67 off 31 balls (4×4, 7×6) and getting England off to a blistering start.
  • Hardik Pandya recorded his best bowling figures in all T20I cricket, taking four for 38 and helping India restrict England to a total less than 200.
  • MS Dhoni became only the second wicketkeeper in T20I cricket to effect five dismissals in an innings. But he is the first wicketkeeper in T20Is to take five catches in an innings. He has also become the first to take 50 catches in T20 International cricket. The former captain currently has 54 catches in this format of cricket.
  • Rohit Sharma scored his third T20I hundred (and now has the most centuries in T20I by an Indian batsman), finishing with an unbeaten 56-ball 100 and guiding India to a series-winning, seven-wicket win.
  • Rohit also became the second Indian batsman—after Virat Kohli did so in the second T20I in Cardiff—and the fifth overall, to complete 2000 T20I runs.
  • Virat Kohli recorded his 11th win as Indian T20 captain, leading India for the 17th time in this format.

Your opinion...