India secure 7th Asia Cup with thrilling last-ball win

Brief scores: Bangladesh 222/10 (Liton Das 121, Soumya Sarkar 33; Kuldeep Yadav 3/45, Kedar Jadhav 2/41) lost to India 223/7 (Rohit Sharma 48, Dinesh Karthik 37, MS Dhoni 36, Kedar Jadhav 23*, Ravindra Jadeja 23; Rubel Hossain 2/26, Mustafizur Rahman 2/38) by 3 wickets

Statistical highlights

  • India won the Asia Cup for a seventh time, beating Bangladesh by three wickets in the final of the 2018 edition. This was India’s 489th ODI win overall and the 29th against Bangladesh.
  • Being put into bat by Rohit Sharma after he won the toss, Liton Das made his maiden ODI hundred to first get Bangladesh off to a good start and, after a wobble in the middle phase, ensured they at least posted a 200-plus total with a 117-ball 121.
  • Along with Mehidy Hasan, who surprisingly opened the innings for Bangladesh, Liton put together a 120-run stand. This was Bangladesh’s highest opening partnership against India (the previous highest being 102 between Tamim Iqbal and Soumya Sarkar in 2015) and the first 100-run opening partnership in 27 ODIs, the last coming in December 2016.
  • Mehidy became the fifth player in Asia Cup history, and the first Bangladeshi, to open the batting and bowling, with his taking the new ball for the second match in a row.
  • Shikhar Dhawan finished the 2018 Asia Cup as the highest run-scorer with 342 runs, while Rashid Khan, with 10 wickets, was the highest wicket-taker.
  • Captaining India in an ODI for time, Rohit Sharma recorded his seventh win.

Your opinion...