Centurion Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli lead India to series-clinching win

Brief scores: Australia 286/9 (Steve Smith 131, Marnus Labuschagne 54; Mohammed Shami 4/63, Ravindra Jadeja 2/44) lost to India 289/3 (Rohit Sharma 119, Virat Kohli 89, Shreyas Iyer 44*; Ashton Agar 1/38) by 7 wickets

India vs Australia 3rd ODI 2020, key stats

  • India registered their 52nd ODI win against Australia, helping themselves clinch the three-match series 2-1 with a seven-wicket win at the M Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bengaluru
  • Rohit Sharma’s 29th ODI century (a 128-ball 119; 8×4, 6×6) and his 137-run second-wicket partnership with captain Virat Kohli underpinned India’s seven-wicket victory. Kohli himself made 89 (8×4), his 57th ODI fifty
  • Rohit reached 9000 ODI runs, while Virat Kohli completed 5000 ODI runs as captain. He’s also the fastest captain-batsman to achieve the feat (in 89 innings)
  • Earlier, Steve Smith made his ninth ODI century (a 132-ball 131; 14×4, 1×6) and guided Australia to 286 after being involved in a run-out with captain Aaron Finch
  • India’s win was their 62nd under Kohli, who led the team for the 87th time tonight