Rahul, Iyer seal win after bowlers restrict NZ

Brief scores: New Zealand 132/5 (Tim Seifert 33*, Martin Guptill 33; Ravindra Jadeja 2/18, Shivam Dube 1/16) lost to India 135/3 (KL Rahul 57*, Shreyas Iyer 44; Tim Southee 2/20) by 7 wickets

India vs New Zealand 2nd T20 2020, key stats

  • India registered their fifth T20I win over New Zealand, with KL Rahul and Shreyas Iyer leading them to a successful chase of 133 after the bowlers restricted New Zealand to a below-par 132 for five; the pair added 86 runs for the third wicket
  • Rahul struck his 11th T20I fifty and finished unbeaten on 57 off 50 balls (3×4, 2×6), seeing India through to the finish
  • Captaining India for the 35th time in T20I cricket, Virat Kohli registered his 22nd win