India seal T20I series whitewash after NZ batting collapse

Brief scores: India 163/3 (Rohit Sharma 60 retired hurt, KL Rahul 45, Shreyas Iyer 33*; Scott Kuggeleijn 2/25) beat New Zealand 156/9 (Ross Taylor 53, Tim Seifert 50; Jasprit Bumrah 3/12, Navdeep Saini 2/23, Shardul Thakur 2/38) by 9 runs

India vs New Zealand 5th T20 2020, key stats

  • India beat New Zealand by nine runs in the fifth T20I of the series to whitewash the home team and register their eighth T20I win over the Blackcaps in the head-to-head
  • New Zealand were on course to register their first win of the series after wicketkeeper Tim Seifert and senior batsman Ross Taylor combinedly scored 34 runs off one Shivam Dube over, which is now the record for the most runs conceded by an Indian bowler in one over in T20 International cricket, leaving the home team needing 66 runs to score in the last 10 overs.
  • Seifert made his third T20I half-century, a 30-ball 50 (5×4, 3×6), while Taylor struck his seventh fifty in the format, a 47-ball 53 (5×4, 2×6), and together they added 99 runs for the fourth wicket. It was Seifert’s dismissal that triggered New Zealand’s collapse: they went from 116 for three to 141 for nine, letting India back into the match
  • Earlier, Rohit Sharma made his 21st T20I half-century, a 41-ball 60 (3×4, 3×6), providing India a solid foundation for an even bigger total than they eventually managed. He retired hurt after pulling his left calf muscle while scampering across for a quick single
  • Rohit led India in a T20 International for the 19th time, standing in for Virat Kohli, who was rested