Centurion Ross Taylor, Latham help NZ to record run-chase

Brief scores: India 347/4 (Shreyas Iyer 103, KL Rahul 88*, Virat Kohli 51; Tim Southee 2/85) lost to New Zealand 348/6 (Ross Taylor 109*, Henry Nicholls 78, Tom Latham 69; Kuldeep Yadav 2/84) by 4 wickets

India vs New Zealand 1st ODI 2020, key stats

  • New Zealand’s fearless batting approach, in addition to poor fielding and inconsistent bowling from India, helped seal their highest successful run-chase of 348, winning the match by four wickets and with 11 balls to spare. It was India’s 47th ODI loss against New Zealand
  • Ross Taylor made an unbeaten 84-ball 109, his 21st ODI century, that spearheaded New Zealand’s pursuit of a stiff total. His knock was punctuated with 10 fours and four sixes. Taylor shared a 138-run partnership for the fourth wicket with stand-in captain Tom Latham, wresting control of the match with proactive batting and by attacking the Indian spinners Ravindra Jadeja and Kuldeep Yadav
  • Earlier, Shreyas Iyer made his maiden ODI century, a 107-ball 103, an innings laced with 11 fours and a six, paving the way for India’s strong finish to their innings after being put in to bat
  • It was India captain Virat Kohli’s 22nd ODI defeat as captain
  • Mayank Agarwal and Prithvi Shaw became the 230th and 231st ODI players for India having made their debuts following the injuries to Rohit Sharma and Shikhar Dhawan