India ace stiff run-chase to take unassailable 2-0 series lead

Brief scorecard: Australia 194/5 (Matthew Wade 58, Steven Smith 46; Thangarasu Natarajan 2/20) lost to India 195/4 (Shikhar Dhawan 52, Hardik Pandya 42*, Virat Kohli 40; Mitchell Swepson 1/25) by 6 wickets

Australia vs India 2nd T20I 2020, stats

  • India stretched their T20I winning run to eight matches—they last lost a T20 International in October 2019, to the West Indies—with a thumping six-wicket win over Australia in the second T20I at Sydney Cricket Ground. It ensured they took an unassailable 2-0 lead in the three-match series.
  • With Aaron Finch unfit to play, Matthew Wade took charge as Australia’s 11th T20I captain.
  • Left-arm seamer Daniel Sams is another Australian who will remember this day having made his Australia debut. He became the 95th T20I player for the country having replaced Mitchell Starc in the squad.
  • Opening the batting, Wade made a 32-ball 58, an innings punctuated by 10 fours and a six. It was his second T20I half-century.
  • It provided Australia with a foundation which they capitalised on to reach 194 for five in 20 overs.
  • India were clinical in their pursuit of 195. Opener Shikhar Dhawan made his 11th T20I half-century and provided the early impetus to the run-chase, alongside KL Rahul. Dhawan made a 36-ball 52, with four fours and two sixes.
  • Hardik Pandya, finishing unbeaten on 42, took India to victory with a pair of sixes in the final over with the visitor requiring 14 runs to seal the win.
  • It was India’s 13th T20I win over Australia and their seventh against the same opposition on Australian soil.
  • Captain Virat Kohli registered his 24th win as India’s T20I skipper.