Dhawan named captain in India squad for Sri Lanka tour 2021

The all-India senior selection committee, led by former India fast bowler Chetan Sharma, named on Thursday (June 10) a 20-man squad for India’s tour of Sri Lanka 2021, comprising three ODIs and three T20Is. Shikhar Dhawan has been named the captain for the tour with Bhuvneshwar Kumar his deputy.

Devdutt Padikkal, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Nitish Rana, Krishnappa Gowtham, and Chetan Sakariya have earned their maiden national call-ups.

Tamil Nadu spinner Varun Chakravarthy has been named in the squad for a third time after fitness concerns forced him out of contention for the T20I series against Australia and England having initially been named in those squads.

Manish Pandey and Prithvi Shaw are making a comeback to the Indian limited-overs squads after missing out on selection for the away tour of Australia and the home series against England in March.

India will play three ODIs against Sri Lanka starting on July 13, followed by the second ODI on July 16 and the final ODI on July 18. The three T20Is will be played on July 21, July 23 and July 25.

Full Indian squad for ODIs & T20Is against Sri Lanka: Shikhar Dhawan (captain), Bhuvneshwar Kumar (vice-captain), Prithvi Shaw, Devdutt Padikkal, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Suryakumar Yadav, Manish Pandey, Hardik Pandya, Nitish Rana, Ishan Kishan (WK), Sanju Samson (WK), Yuzvendra Chahal, Rahul Chahar, Krishnappa Gowtham, Krunal Pandya, Kuldeep Yadav, Varun Chakravarthy, Deepak Chahar, Navdeep Saini, Chetan Sakariya

One comment

  1. Rutraj or Devdutt had to sit out as Dhawan is the skipper. But I want to see both of them opening for India

Your opinion...