New Zealand beat India to secure inaugural ICC World Test Championship

Brief scorecard: India 217/10 (Ajinkya Rahane 49, Virat Kohli 44; Kyle Jamieson 5/31, Neil Wagner 2/40) and 170/10 (Rishabh Pant 41, Rohit Sharma 30; Tim Southee 4/48, Trent Boult 3/39) lost to New Zealand 249/10 (Devon Conway 54, Kane Williamson 49; Mohammed Shami 4/76, Ishant Sharma 3/48) and 140/2 (Williamson 52*, Ross Taylor 47*; Ravichandran Ashwin 2/17) by 8 wickets

World Test Championship final 2021 stats

  • New Zealand’s long quest for an ICC trophy ended at the Hampshire Bowl in Southampton, where they beat the Virat Kohli-led India by eight wickets in the World Test Championship final to become the inaugural World Test champions and secure the Mace.
  • An unbeaten 96-run stand for the third wicket between captain Kane Williamson and New Zealand’s leading run-scorer, Ross Taylor, helped the Blackcaps cruise to the target of 139 on the final hour of the reserve day for the Championship showpiece.
  • Both teams took the field with all three results possible. Kyle Jamieson removed India’s overnight batsmen, Kohli and Cheteshwar Pujara, in his opening spell to boost New Zealand’s prospects of victory.
  • Led by Tim Southee’s 4 for 48 in the second innings, New Zealand managed to bowl India out for 170, with Rishabh Pant top-scoring with an 88-ball 41.
  • Striving to defend 138, R Ashwin gave India a glimmer of hope of triggering a New Zealand collapse by removing their openers Tom Latham (9) and Devon Conway (19) cheaply. But with 95 required for victory, Williamson and Taylor assumed control and chipped away at the target with measured strokeplay to ensure they didn’t allow India to come back into the match.
  • Williamson finished unbeaten on 52, his 33rd Test half-century, as he backed up his crucial 49 in the first innings with a knock of huge significance.
  • Ashwin, with 71 wickets, finished as the highest wicket-taker in the inaugural World Test Championship, while Australia’s Marnus Labuschagne (with 1675 runs) finished as the highest run-scorer.
  • Jamieson was named the player of the match for his match figures of 7 for 61, including a match-changing spell of 5 for 31 in India’s first innings. It was his fifth Test five-wicket haul.
  • Wicketkeeper BJ Watling, who retired from Test cricket at the conclusion of the World Test Championship final, finished with 257 catches, thus going past MS Dhoni’s tally of 256 and slotting himself seventh on the list of most catches by a wicketkeeper in Test cricket.
  • The victory was New Zealand’s 13th in Test cricket against India in the 60th meeting between the teams.
  • Captaining India for the 61st time in Tests, Kohli suffered his 15th loss.