Rohit-Dravid era off to winning start

Brief scorecard: New Zealand 164/6 (Martin Guptill 70, Mark Chapman 63; Ravichandran Ashwin 2/23, Bhuvneshwar Kumar 2/24) lost to India 166/5 (Suryakumar Yadav 62, Rohit Sharma 48; Trent Boult 2/31, Daryl Mitchell 1/11) by 5 wickets

Statistical highlights of India vs New Zealand 1st T20I 2021

  • Rohit Sharma’s stint as India’s permanent T20I captain was off to a winning start as they beat New Zealand by five wickets in the first T20 International at the Sawai Mansingh Stadium in Jaipur.
  • It was India’s ninth T20I win over the Blackcaps in the 18th meeting between the teams.
  • Chasing 165 for victory, India were cruising at 142 for two after 16 overs and seemingly set to win comfortably. But a flurry of wickets interspersed by dot balls in the last few overs gave New Zealand hope of restricting India.
  • With 10 runs required off the last over, debutant Venkatesh Iyer and Rishabh Pant struck a four apiece to drag India to the target.
  • Earlier, Rohit had won the toss and chose to field first as India made four changes to their playing XI from their previous outing, which was at the T20 World Cup in Dubai.
  • Venkatesh Iyer was handed his India debut straight away as he became the country’s 93rd T20I player.
  • Martin Guptill and Mark Chapman put together a 109-run partnership for the second wicket to put New Zealand in a strong position after the early loss of Daryl Mitchell for a golden duck. Guptill made his 19th T20I half-century (a 42-ball 70), while Chapman made his maiden T20I fifty (a 50-ball 63) for New Zealand and his second in the format (his previous fifty had come in Hong Kong colours).
  • The Indian bowling attack restricted New Zealand to 164 for six, conceding only 20 runs in the last three overs, to set up a good run-chase.
  • For India, Suryakumar Yadav top-scored with a 40-ball 62 (6 fours and 3 sixes), his third fifty in T20Is, as he put India on the cusp of victory before being castled by Trent Boult as he tried to scoop him over short fine-leg.
  • It was India’s 16th T20I win in 20 matches under Rohit’s captaincy.