Most wins by a team in IPL history

Team MP MW ML NR Win %
MI 205 121 84 0 59.02
CSK 181 107 73 1 59.11
KKR 194 100 94 0 51.54
RCB 198 93 101 4 46.96
PBKS 192 89 103 0 46.35
DC 196 87 107 2 44.38
RR 163 82 79 2 50.30
SRH 126 66 60 0 52.38
DCh 75 29 46 0 38.66
RPS 30 15 15 0 50.00
GL 30 13 17 0 43.33
PWI 46 12 33 1 26.08
KTK 14 6 8 0 42.85

About most wins in IPL by a team

Incepted in 2008 as an eight-team, league-cum-knockout tournament, the Indian Premier League (IPL) has revolutionised Indian and world cricket. The cash cow of the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI), IPL is the richest T20 cricket league and the most-watched around the world too, with the TV viewership for the tournament’s 2020 edition reaching 31.57 million impressions, the highest for any IPL season, according to the Broadcast Audience Research Council (BARC) India.

The standard of cricket elevates the IPL above every other T20 competition, while the team rivalries (Mumbai Indians v Chennai Super Kings, for example, is called the El Clasico of IPL) add more spice to a tournament that is not short of entertainment value.

Mumbai, with 121 victories in 205 matches, have the most wins by a team in IPL. They are followed by Chennai, who, having played two seasons less, have the second-most wins in IPL (107 in 183 matches). The two franchises also share eight—MI 5 and CSK 3—of the 13 trophies won so far, making them the most successful IPL teams in history. Mumbai have played the most IPL matches (205).

Super Kings, who have played each of their 12 seasons under MS Dhoni’s captaincy, have the highest win percentage with 59.11, fractionally ahead of Mumbai’s 59.02.

Kolkata Knight Riders, who have won the IPL twice, are the only other team to have 100 (or more) wins. They also have the third-highest win percentage for an IPL team, with 51.54.

Pune Warriors India, who featured in three seasons of IPL from 2011 to 2013 before being terminated by the BCCI for refusing to pay the entire bank guarantee amount as per the franchise agreement, have the lowest win percentage for an IPL team, with 26.08. They won only 12 of 44 IPL matches.

Among franchises to have played each of the 13 completed seasons so far, Delhi Capitals (previously Delhi Daredevils) have the lowest win percentage (44.38) having won 87 of the 196 matches.

Virat Kohli’s Royal Challengers Bangalore, with 93 wins in 198 matches, have a win percentage of 46.96. The rebranded Punjab Kings, previously Kings XI Punjab, have a win percentage of 46.35 after winning 89 of their 192 matches.

Glossary: MP-Matches played, MW-Matches won (includes Super Over wins after tied matches), ML-Matches lost (includes Super Over losses after tied matches), NR-No result; CSK-Chennai Super Kings, DC-Delhi Capitals, DCh-Deccan Chargers, GL-Gujarat Lions, KTK-Kochi Tuskers Kerala, KKR-Kolkata Knight Riders, MI-Mumbai Indians, PBKS-Punjab Kings, PWI-Pune Warriors India, RR-Rajasthan Royals, RPS-Rising Pune Supergiant, RCB-Royal Challengers Bangalore, SRH-Sunrisers Hyderabad