Shreyas Iyer shines with the bat again as India whitewash Sri Lanka 3-0

Brief scores: Sri Lanka 146/5 (Dasun Shanaka 74*, Dinesh Chandimal 22; Avesh Khan 2/23) lost to India 148/4 (Shreyas Iyer 73*, Ravindra Jadeja 22*; Lahiru Kumar 2/39) by 6 wickets

Statistical highlights of India vs Sri Lanka 3rd T20I 2022

  • India completed their third consecutive T20I series whitewash (3-0) as they beat Sri Lanka by six wickets in the third and final match at the HPCA Stadium in Dharamsala.
  • It extended their T20I winning streak to 12 matches, which is the joint-longest in men’s T20Is along with Afghanistan and Romania’s, while it is their 17th T20I win against Sri Lanka.
  • Shreyas Iyer was again the architect as India clinically chased down 147, this time achieving the target with more restraint than in their successful chase of 184 a day earlier.
  • Shreyas continued his dream run of batting form with his third consecutive fifty of the T20I series, an unbeaten 45-ball 73, also his sixth half-century in the format. Walking in at No. 3 at the fall of captain Rohit Sharma in the third over, he mixed caution with aggression to settle in and once he settled in, ensured he batted through to see India home.
  • He aggregated 204 runs in the three-match T20I series and bagged the player-of-the-series and player-of-the-match awards.
  • Earlier, Sri Lanka captain Dasun Shanaka single-handedly led his side to 146 for five with an unbeaten 38-ball 74 after they had been reduced to 11 for three in four overs.
  • It is his third T20I fifty and the highest score in the format. Much like his 19-ball cameo in the second T20I, Shanaka timed his acceleration diligently. He soaked up the pressure from India bowlers early in his knock, but after helping Sri Lanka stem the procession of wickets, the captain showed the full range of his strokes to find the boundary at regular intervals and help get to a respectable total.
  • It was, however, well below par to challenge India.
  • The victory was India’s 24th in 28 T20Is under Rohit’s captaincy.
  • Rohit also became the most-capped T20I player with 125 appearances, surpassing Pakistan’s Shoaib Malik (124).