The World Test Championship is the International Cricket Council’s flagship tournament, featuring home and away Test series played between nine of ICC’s twelve Full Member nations.

Afghanistan, Ireland, and Zimbabwe didn’t feature in the inaugural edition, played between 2019 and 2021, and are not part of the ongoing cycle either.

As per the current format, each of the nine teams plays a total of six series (three at home and three away) which feature between two and five Tests each.

Each team gets 12 points for a win, six points for a tie, four points for a draw, and zero points for a loss.

The inaugural edition was held from 1 August 2019 to 23 June 2021, with India and New Zealand qualifying for the final after finishing No. 1 and No. 2 in the standings.

The final, originally scheduled to be played at Lord’s, was held at Rose Bowl in Southampton to ensure the health and safety of all players from the COVID-19 pandemic.

Rain washed out two days of the final, but the provision of a reserve sixth day helped decide the outright winner of the inaugural ICC World Test Championship.

New Zealand successfully chased down the target of 139 to beat India and win the ICC World Test Championship Mace.

The second and ongoing edition began on 4 August 2021, with England hosting India for a five-match Test series. The cycle is scheduled to conclude on 31 March 2023.

Scorecard of England vs India 4th Test 2021 | The Oval, Sep 2-6

Shardul Thakur, Rohit Sharma shine as India retake series lead with thumping win over England

Brief scorecard: India 191/10 (Shardul Thakur 57, Virat Kohli 50; Chris Woakes 4/55, Ollie Robinson 3/38) and 466/10 (Rohit Sharma 127, Cheteshwar Pujara 61, Thakur 60; Woakes 3/83, Robinson 2/105) […]

Read more
Brief scorecard of England vs India 3rd Test 2021, stats | Headingley

Joe Root leads the way as resurgent England level series against India

Brief scorecard: India 78/10 (Rohit Sharma 19; James Anderson 3/6, Craig Overton 3/14) and 278/10 (Cheteshwar Pujara 91, Rohit 59, Virat Kohli 55; Ollie Robinson 5/65, Overton 3/47) lost to […]

Read more
Brief scorecard and statistical highlights of England vs India 2nd Test 2021

Charged-up India lord over Lord’s as England’s batting comes a cropper again

Brief scorecard: India 364/10 (KL Rahul 129, Rohit Sharma 83; James Anderson 5/62, Ollie Robinson 2/73) and 298/8 dec. (Ajinkya Rahane 61, Mohammed Shami 56*; Mark Wood 3/51, Robinson 2/45) […]

Read more
Brief scorecard of England vs India 1st Test 2021 | Trent Bridge, Nottingham

England and India walk away with a draw after final-day washout in Trent Bridge

Brief scorecard:¬†England 183/10 (Joe Root 64, Jonny Bairstow 29, Sam Curran 27*; Jasprit Bumrah 4/46, Mohammed Shami 3/28) and 303/10 (Root 109, Curran 32; Bumrah 5/64, Shardul Thakur 2/37) drew […]

Read more
ICC World Test Championship winners list

ICC World Test Championship winners list

Year Winner Runner-up Win margin 2019-21 New Zealand India 8 wickets New Zealand won the inaugural, and so far only, edition of the ICC World Test Championship, played between 2019 […]

Read more